Bank Negara issues commemorative banknotes to mark signing of Federation of Malaya Independence Agreement

The Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Muhammad V launched commemorative banknotes on Thursday issued by Bank Negara in conjunction the 60th anniversary of the signing of the Federation of Malaya Independence Agreement.

The launch was held at the Museum and Art Gallery, Sasana Kijang, Bank Negara Malaysia.

The banknotes were issued in honour of the contributions by the Council (later called Conference) of Rulers towards the realisation of Malaysia’s independence on Aug 31, 1957.

There are three different banknotes. They are: a single RM600 banknote which is sold at RM1,700 a piece; an uncut 3-in-1 RM60 banknote with a face value of RM180 and sold at RM500 a piece; and a single RM60 banknote with a face value of RM60 and sold at RM120 a piece.

A total of 6,000 pieces of each banknote have been printed and the public can place their orders for them from Jan 5 next year.

At the event, Sultan Muhammad V was also presented with commemorative coins issued in conjunction with His Majesty’s installation as the 15th Yang di-Pertuan Agong, reported Bernama.