You can’t delete your PayPal history without deleting your account as well — here’s how to do it

Unfortunately, you can't delete your PayPal history, but you can delete your account and accomplish basically the same thing.

caption
Unfortunately, you can’t delete your PayPal history, but you can delete your account and accomplish basically the same thing.
source
Shutterstock

If you have ever made a purchase or accepted a payment via PayPal, there is a record of the transaction, and there’s really nothing you can do to hide said transaction either.

In past years, PayPal offered the ability to archive transactions on a case-by-case basis; however this option was discontinued in 2014.

Here’s what you need to know about how PayPal’s transaction history, and how to delete yours.

How to delete your PayPal history

For a while, PayPal transactions would be automatically archived after a certain period of time. Yet, even then they couldn’t be completely deleted – they were just harder to find.

Today, every PayPal exchange is clearly visible under the “Activity” tab at the top of the screen of the PayPal site.

After 2014, you no longer have the option to archive past transactions.

caption
After 2014, you no longer have the option to archive past transactions.
source
Steven John/Business Insider

So if you’re considering a PayPal transaction that you’d rather keep hidden from anyone who can see your PayPal account, you may want to skip said exchange because you can’t delete your PayPal history – unless of course you’re willing to delete your account immediately after the exchange.

Deleting your account will delete your entire transaction history with it, meaning that your PayPal history will stay private – permanently.

Related coverage from How To Do Everything: Tech: